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Part of the two following chapters (10.8 and 10.09) of the rules booklet is missing (page 
8). Here is their complete content: 
 
10.8 - Advance after mêlée 
Advance by the attacker is obligatory after a mêlée that causes the defender to retreat (exceptions: see 12.1). A 
defender that wins a combat can advance only if the Mêlée Table indicates that it can, and this advance is not 
obligatory. If several units are participating in a mêlée, the player chooses which of his units will advance. 
Advance after mêlée must obey the stacking limit.  
A leader can advance after combat only if the unit with which he is stacked also advances. 
A unit that advances after mêlée can freely change its facing. 
Exception: a cavalry unit that charges can only change its facing one hexside when advancing after mêlée. 
10. 9 - Pursuit, élan and dispersion 
After a charge, pursuit may lead to as many as two additional charges. 
• If the charging unit was not already fatigued at the start, and if the initial charge results in an advance after 

mêlée without “fatigue” for the attacking unit, the latter must execute an Elan: it must advance into the 
vacated hex, while changing facing by one hexside if desired, and execute a new charge against the unit 
currently in its central front hex. 

• If the result of the Elan involves a new advance after mêlée without “fatigue” for the attacking unit, the latter 
can choose to execute a Dispersion: it must advance again into the vacated hex, while changing facing by one 
hexside if desired, and then it may choose to execute a new charge against the unit currently in its central 
front hex. Whatever the result of its charge, the attacking unit which executed the Dispersion suffers a 
“fatigue” result in addition to the results of the charge, and the pursuit ends. 

Elan and Dispersion are completely separate mêlées, with their own potential defensive and offensive fire phases 
(see 6. D.3 and D.4).  
Special cases: 
- Elan and Dispersion do not take place if there is not an enemy unit in the central front hex of the charging unit; 
- if, when charged, the unit being attacked has to remain in place and suffer the loss of an additional level of 
disorganization (10.7), then there is no pursuit (or no Dispersion if this occurs after an Elan); 
- if a defending unit is attacked by a charge, and is still in contact with the attacking units after the result of the 
charge and the pursuit have been determined, it can be attacked again in Elan or Dispersion; 
 - if a defending unit which must be attacked in mêlée is attacked via Elan or Dispersion before the intended 
attack can take place, the initially intended mêlée does not occur, in compliance with 10.1. 
 
 
Battle of Worringen, 5 June 1288 
 
Correction (in red) 
B3. Hugues and Guy of Chatillon. Hugues and Guy of Chatillon. The player who takes the side of Jean of 
Brabant can use this marker which represents a group of French knights who were with that army and is used in 
the resolution of a charge conducted by Ch units of his banner. One time per turn the marker may be placed with 
a Ch unit of that banner. This affects their charge, providing a +1 bonus to the die roll resolving that combat, and 
to the following élan and dispersion resolutions. If the charge does not result in a mandatory advance on the part 
of the attacking Ch unit, the marker is permanently removed from play and adds to the Siegfried player’s victory 
point total the number of VP shown on the back of the counter. 
 
 


